SpaceX aborts second launch attempt for Intelsat 35e launch at T-10 seconds

Update 8:35 PM EDT: The launch was once again aborted at T-10 seconds, which is the same time it cut off during yesterday’s attempt. That suggests it was again halted by an automated computer cut-off, though SpaceX said on the launch broadcast that the issue from yesterday was definitely looking fixed.

The cause of yesterday’s abort was a reading that showed the rocket’s guidance system was off, but later examination found that all was good with those systems, and instead the computer itself was adjusted. SpaceX is still looking into the cause of today’s hold, but a backup launch opportunity is set for tomorrow, July 4.

Update 7:06 PM EDT: The new launch time is now 8:35 PM EDT (5:35 PM PDT) after SpaceX updated it for a second time. The window closes at 8:36 PM EDT so it’s unlikely to shift again, unless the launch is scrubbed.

Update 6:50 PM EDT: SpaceX has pushed back the target launch start time to 8:07 PM EDT (5:07 PM PDT). The window for today’s mission extends approximately an hour from the 7:37 PM EDT open, so it’s conceivable this could change again depending on conditions. As it stands, the live feed should begin at around 7:52 PM EDT (4:52 PM PDT).

SpaceX has its second window for launching Intelsat 35e, a satellite bound for geostationary orbit, on Monday at 7:37 PM EDT (4:37 PM PDT). This is a backup window after the first attempt was scrubbed on Sunday, following a computer abort of the launch when the countdown stopped with just 10 seconds left.

The Intelsat 35e launch won’t involve an attempt to recover the first stage of the Falcon 9 rocket used to propel it to space – but for good reason: This is the heaviest payload SpaceX has attempted to launch aboard a Falcon 9, and such cargo requires that the rocket be configured in a way that makes it impossible to recover a reusable first stage.

The launch is the third in just 10 days for SpaceX, which launched missions both last Friday and last Sunday. SpaceX also just recovered the Dragon capsule it used for an ISS resupply mission it flew on July 3rd, which is the first Dragon capsule that has visited the ISS previously, returned to Earth, been refurbished and used over again.

SpaceX’s launch live stream above should begin around 15 minutes prior to launch, which means it’ll start at around 7:22 PM EDT (4:22 PM PDT), so tune in here to check out the launch from Kennedy’s LC-39A.

TechCrunch

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *